Featured Blogger: Anje of Going Somewhere Slowly

This week we peek into Anje’s world from Going Somewhere Slowly!

unnamed (2)

1. First of all, what are your website and social media links?

Website: http://www.goingsomewhereslowly.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/goingsomewhereslowly
Twitter: https://twitter.com/AnjeRautenbach
Instagram: http://instagram.com/going_somewhere_slowly
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/103059504983356238242/+Goingsomewhereslowlytravel/posts

2. How did you come up with your website name?

I started the website just before I left for Indonesia for my first bicycle trip. I can’t exactly remember how I came up with it, but I thought it was quite fitting considering the mode of transport I chose to travel with. The name has become a part of me now, can’t imagine it any other way – it’s who I am, how I travel and where I go (wherever that may be).

3. What more can you tell us about your blog? What are your goals or intentions for it?

My two biggest passions in life are writing and traveling. My blog is a way to constantly live out those passions and share it with others. It forces me to keep on writing, improving and exploring new grounds.

4. Can you provide us with a Throw Back Thursday picture of one of your favorite travel memories with an explanation?

unnamed

This photo was taken during my bicycle trip in Bali – I was on my way from Ubud to Padangbai and stopped in a village to fill up on water. The ladies working in the shop took interest in my nails which were painted in 5 different colors. I searched my panniers for the bag of nail polish and the ladies had a ball painting their nails in crazy colors!

5. Which are your favorite and least favorite cities you’ve traveled to? Why?

I prefer small towns, but one of my favorite cities is Kyoto – it’s eclectic; serene and bustling, antique and modern. Luang Prabang and Nieu-Bethesda are two towns also on the top of my list – both are extremely peaceful and when you’re there you feel kind of lost in time.
Least favorite city has to be Beijing, despite all the amazing architecture and historic sights, the city itself didn’t impress me much!

6. What’s the strangest thing you’ve ever eaten? Where?

Beondegi (silk worms) in Korea. The smell and taste is absolutely disgusting.
I put things in my mouth daily that make me think “What the hell did I just put in my mouth?” (the joys of school lunches in South Korea).

7. Who are your travel idols?

Mirjam Wouters from Cycling Dutch Girl, Christine Kaaloa from Grrrl Traveler, Riaan Manser (Author of “Around Africa on my Bicycle) and Nomadic Matt because of his amazing entrepreneur skills.

8. What’s your best travel tip?

Slow down and don’t rush your trip. Wander away from the crowds and tourist trails and find the beauty in the middle of nowhere. The middle of nowhere is always beautiful.

9. Which is your favorite post you’ve written? Please provide a link.

My favorite post – “The process of writing” – has nothing to do with traveling directly…but about a month after I wrote this post I quit my job to get back to Asia, back to traveling and back to writing. All paths lead to traveling in the end.
http://www.goingsomewhereslowly.com/apps/blog/show/32701946-the-process-of-writing

10. What advice would you give to someone new to travel blogging?

Be patient; take it day by day. See your travel blog as your baby – nurture it, take care of it and see it grow into something beautiful that you can be proud of. Be in it for the love of blogging and traveling, don’t be in it for the money.

Leave a comment